UPLB alumni honored at 104th Loyalty Day

Over 55 alumni received recognition at the Alumni Awarding Ceremony on Oct. 8 as part of the 104th UPLB Loyalty Day celebration. 

Ronald R. Mascariñas, BSA ’82, president and general manager of Bounty Agro Ventures, Inc., was recognized by UPLB and the UPLB Alumni Association (UPLBAA) as this year’s recipient of the UPLBAA Presidential Award. He was recognized for his excellence in the business field and his generosity, which benefited many essential workers and families, including stranded UPLB students.

Mascariñas delivered a response on behalf of his fellow awardees, where he emphasized the value of love for one’s country, upholding fairness, and thinking about the welfare of the less fortunate members of society. 

“If each one of us will do our share, kung ano man yung ma-contribute natin to bridge those gaps na nakikita natin, then this country will be a better place. Mas mabilis tayong [aasenso],” he added.

Benny M. Corcolon, BSA ’82, MS 93, and PhD ’04, was chosen as the recipient of the Nelia T. Gonzalez (NTG) Alumni Service Award. The NTG Alumni Service Award is named after the late UP Regent NT Gonzalez who is known for her outstanding achievements and service in striving for the goals of the university and UPLBAA.

The following were named recipients of The Outstanding UPLB Alumni Awards: Romeo T. Opeña, BSA ’64; Manuel C. Palada, MS ’71; Zaldy B. Patron, BS Econ ’90; Cherry I. Ultra, PhD ’01; Marilyn B. Brown, BSA ’80, MS ’86, PhD ’94; Melinda F. Lumanta, BSA ’74, MS ’79; Rasid M. Paca, MS ’01; Riza A. Ramos, BS Nutri ’91, MS ’96; Samuel C. Dalmacio, BSA ’66, MS ’70; Maria Theresa D. Marcial, BS Econ ’90; Antonio L. Oña, BSA ’70; Nemesio A. Dela Cruz, BSA ’75; and Julieta L. Javellana, BA Comm Arts ’89.

This year’s Loyalty Day celebrations were led by the Golden Jubilarian Class or those who graduated from UPLB in 1972. From among them, 10 were named recipients of the Outstanding Golden Jubilarian Awards: Augusto T. Abelilla, Sonia D. Acda, also an MS ’82 and PhD ’94 graduate, Constante U. Adalla, Carlos B. Carpio, Jovita M. Corpuz, Rolando V. Labio, also an MS ’79 graduate of UPLB, Victor S. Luis, Jr., Rosendo S. Rapusas, Cesar C. Sevilla, and Alfinetta Rola Bustrillos-Zamora, also an MS ’77 graduate of UPLB. 

A total of 32 were awarded as distinguished alumni by their respective college alumni associations: These are Agripino L. Torres, BSA ’70; Felipe S. Dela Cruz, BSA ’79, MS ’85; John C. De Leon, BSA ’90, MS ’94; and Marilou N. Infante, BSA ‘84 from the College of Agriculture and Food Science Alumni Association; Marilen P. Balolong, BS Bio ’95, MS ’02 and Mark Kristoffer U. Psayan, BS Bio ’00 from the College of Arts and Sciences Alumni Association; Arnel B. Beltran, BS Chem Eng ’05; Manuel R. Reyes, BS Ag Eng ’80, MS ’87; Pablito G. Nagpala, BS Sugar Tech ’79; and Eduardo B. Cleofe, BS Ag Eng ’95 from the College of Engineering and Agro-industrial Technology Alumni Association.

The College of Forestry and Natural Resources Alumni Association awarded Michelia O. Capadocia, BSF ’81 and Priscila C. Dolom, BSF ’80, MS ’86, and PhD ’01; Glenda M. Cadigal, BSF ’97; and Roscinto Ian C. Lumbres, BSF ‘06 as their distinguished alumni and the College of Development Communication Alumni Association gave the award to Djuara P. Lubis, PhD ’00; Jonas H. Tetangco, BSDA ’97; and Dwight Jason M. Ronan, BSDC ’09.

The College of Development Communication Alumni Association gave distinguished alumni awards to Theodore Ivan R. Paris, BSAM ’97; Everette E. Villaraza, BS Econ ’09; Marieta P. Hwang, BSAM ’85; and Paul John F. Barrosa, BS Econ ’11. The College of Human Ecology Alumni Association presented distinguished awards to Mark Lemuel L. Cena, BSHE ’09; Brian Carlo A. Hipolito, BSHE ’12 and MS ’17; S.M. Ziauddin Hyder, MS ’91; and Ysabel G. Gatmaitan, BSHE ’98.

Recognized distinguished alumni by the College of Public Affairs and Development Alumni Association were Dixon T. Gevaña, CF ’99, BSF ’03, and MS ’09 and Ericson N. Dela Cruz, PhD ’20 . The School of Environmental Science and Management Alumni Association recognized the following as its distinguished alumni: Fernando C. Sanchez, Jr., BSA ’87, MS ’94; Andrew Eusebio S. Tan, PhD ’09; Asuncion B. De Guzman, PhD ’04; Eriberto B. Saños, CF ’83, BSF ’86, MS ’98; and Dethsackda Manikham, MS ’10.

Five families were named recipients of the Multi-Generation Award for having at least three generations of UPLB graduates. They are the Gregorio family, the Tetangco family, the Dorado family, the Feliciano family, and the Zamora family.

In his message to the alumni, Chancellor Jose V. Camacho, Jr. highlighted the accomplishments that UPLB was able to achieve with their help and support, including the vaccination efforts also made in partnership with the Los Baños local government.

“Now that we are emerging from the shadow of COVID-19, we need to realign that teamwork toward the future. While the road to building back better is an uphill climb, it can and will be made less demanding by working together,” he said.

The Alumni Awarding Ceremony is one of the traditional events of Loyalty Day. It was broadcasted live on UPLB’s official social media channels.

Prior to the awarding ceremony, the Golden Jubilarians hosted the Run for Your Heart fun run to raise funds for their legacy project, the University Health Service Heart Station. Loyalty Day celebrations continued the next day with the Loyalty Day parade and the Magkausong Para sa Oblation ceremony held for the renovation of Oblation Park.The UPLB Loyalty Day began as a yearly tradition at UPLB on October 10, 1918 to celebrate the display of service and volunteerism of UPLB students and staff during World War I. (Jessa Jael S. Arana)

Share this on: